How Do I Get A Copy Of My Crash Report?

Were you involved in a car accident in Arizona? Did the police respond to the scene and record vital information about what happened? Are you getting requests from your insurance company, your lawyer, or representatives from the other drivers involved?

If you answered “yes” to any of these questions, you need a copy of your official crash report. While other services, including the state’s website will charge you a fee to get a copy of your report, you can get an official, certified copy here for FREE.

Whether your crash resulted in injuries, severe property damage, or was just a fender bender, we’re here to provide you with your official state-certified accident report, 100% free of charge.

If you’ve been involved in a car accident, there is likely a corresponding crash report. It is required by law to file one for any motor vehicle crash resulting in injury, death, or more than $2,000 in property damage. If you want a certified copy, you can obtain one free of charge.

The first thing you should do after being involved in a collision is to call 911. A police officer will investigate the scene and file a report with the Arizona Department of Transportation within 24 hours of the accident.

The officer’s report contains relevant details about the accident, such as:

  • Date, time, and location of the crash
  • Names and phone numbers of every person involved
  • Names and phone numbers of witnesses
  • Auto insurance policy information of every driver
  • Vehicle damage
  • Type of injuries sustained
  • Description and diagram of events leading up to the accident
  • Citations issued

what happens once an officer takes a report?

When the responding officer has enough information to file an accident report, they will do so immediately. 

If you were on a state highway or interstate and a trooper investigated the collision, you would have to wait at least 14 days to request a copy from the Arizona Department of Public Safety.

If you were in an accident that occurred on a city, town, or county road, you would have to request the report from the law enforcement agency in that jurisdiction. For example, the Maricopa County Sheriff’s Office provides a copy of the report within 7 to 14 days.

The Arizona Department of Public Safety charges $9 to mail, email, or fax it. If you want it on a CD, the fee is $10.

Many sheriff’s offices and local police departments allow you to purchase a copy of your crash report online, but there is a $5 report fee plus a convenience fee. is Arizona’s official site for obtaining a certified copy of your accident report 100% free of charge. All you have to do is request a copy of your report here, and we’ll deliver your copy immediately once it is available. 

While obtaining a copy of your report through the state’s website is possible, these entities charge fees for delivering your report.  

We don’t think that you should ever have to pay for information that rightfully belongs to you. We also understand that you often have other expenses to deal with after a crash and don’t want to be nickel-and-dimed for something like a crash report.

This is why we won’t ask you to pay a single penny for your official state-certified crash report. 

Ready for your FREE Crash report?

Getting a copy of your accident report has never been easier. Get yours now!

Common Questions about obtaining a crash report

According to Arizona Revised Statute 28-667, any of the parties below are allowed a copy of the unredacted report:

  • An individual involved in the collision, the owner of a vehicle involved, or the individual or owner’s representative.
  • A licensed attorney or a licensed private investigator hired by someone involved in the crash for administrative, civil, or arbitration in any government agency, court, or self-regulatory body.
  • A licensed insurer investigating a fraudulent claim or that writes a motor vehicle liability or automobile liability policy and is the insurer of someone involved in the accident and is under the jurisdiction of the department of insurance and financial institutions or self-insured entity or employees, agents, or contractions associated with claims investigations, antifraud activities, underwriting, or rating.
  • Insurance support organization providing services associated with antifraud, rating, investigation, or underwriting.

Your insurance company and the other party’s insurance representatives will likely ask for a copy of the crash report during their investigation of your accident. It contains relevant details that could help them determine who was responsible for the crash, and which policy will need to pay for medical expenses, vehicle repairs, and more.

If you were to request a copy of your accident report through traditional channels, the fee you would have to pay would depend on which law enforcement agency submitted the report. The Arizona Department of Public Safety, for example, charges $9 to mail, email, or fax it. If you want it on a CD, the fee is $10.

Unlike the DPS, many sheriff’s offices and local police departments allow users to download a copy of their report online. It is convenient, but there is a $5 report fee plus a convenience fee.

However, at Free Arizona Accident Report, we can provide you with a copy of your collision report at absolutely no cost to you.

Most organizations will require that you submit at least some of the following information:

  • Your name, address, and phone number
  • Your driver’s license number
  • Your crash report number
  • The accident date
  • The agency’s name, address, and phone number

We provide individuals who’ve been involved in accidents free copies of their certified crash reports completely free of charge as a service to the community. We believe that your Arizona accident report is your property, and you have a right to that information. You shouldn’t have to pay anything to get it.

Request Your Free Arizona Crash Report Now

Car accidents are traumatic experiences. We want to ensure that the next steps are as easy as possible. That is why we provide certified copies of crash reports without charging a fee. All you have to do is go online and type in the required information.

Don’t wait in line at the police station or pay ridiculous fees. Enjoy the ease and convenience of submitting a request from your computer or smartphone. Fill out the online request form or chat with us live to get your crash report for FREE.